Leo Geyer

composer | conductor

Book of the Underworld 2013


Commissioned for The British Museum and first performed on the 5th July 2013 at the museum, by the composer.



Programme Note

This piece was inspired by Sarcophagus of Nectanebo II, which is in the collection of the British Museum. The title Book of the Underworld refers to the hieroglyphs that cover the sarcophagus which depict a number of sections of the funerary text known as the Amduat, or 'Book of what is in the Underworld'.


To create this composition I used a selection of the symbols and translated them into small musical cells. These snippets of music are combined one by one to create a large coherent structure, just as individual hieroglyphs come together to form the funerary text.  


This music is available to purchase for £10 excluding postage. Please get in touch. 

Perusal Score

Please note that this music is in copyright and it is illegal to copy or perform from the perusal score. 

Performance History 

5th July 2013 - Leo Geyer, British Museum