top of page

Leo Geyer

composer | conductor

Co-VI-dx19 2020

small ensemble in self-isolation 

Commissioned by the East London Music Group and first performed virtually by the ensemble in self-isolation in May 2020 with Music Direction by the Matthew Hardy.




Flute, Bassoon | Trumpet in Bb | Violin, Viola, Cello  

Programme Note 

This composition reimagines Covid-19 as a musical instruction.

Co = The chord symbol for C diminished.

VI = The roman numeral indication for chord six, thus A,C,Eb if we assume that the key is C melodic minor.

d = Simply the note D.

x 19 = Play 19 times.  


Therefore, in the opening few seconds the violin presents the “Covid motif”. It quickly infects other instruments developing frantically through each repetition whilst a siren wails above the chaos. Following the final 19th iteration, the ensemble breaks out in a wild improvisation which continues until the fade out, representing the current unresolved nature of the crisis.   


This music is available to purchase for £30 excluding postage. Please get in touch. 

Perusal Score

Please note that this music is in copyright and it is illegal to copy or perform from the perusal score. 

bottom of page