top of page

Leo Geyer

composer | conductor

O Brave New World 2020

self-isolating symphony orchestra & chorus  

Commissioned by The Box, Plymouth and first performed virtually by the Devon Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus in self-isolation in June 2020 with Music Direction by the composer.  




Picc.,2,2,Cor.,2,,2,c.bsn, | 5,2, Flghn,3, Euph.,1. | Hp, Pno | timp, 4 perc. | Chorus | Strings


Programme Note 

The text for O Brave New World is a reimagining of Miranda’s speech from William Shakespeare’s The Tempest, in which she proclaims joyously about the prospect of leaving her island isolation.   


The original text reads:


O, wonder!
How many goodly creatures are there here!
How beauteous mankind is! O brave new world,
That has such people in't!


The reimagined text reads:


O, wonder!


Beauteous mankind, together.

O brave new world.


This work is available to hire. Please get in touch to find out more. 

bottom of page